Copa America 2019 Teams, Group Stage Draw

By | May 6, 2019

Copa America 2019 Teams, Group Stage Draw: There are a total of 12 teams competing in the Copa America 2019 out of which two are from confederations. There are a total of 10 teams which fall under the list of CONMEBOL national teams and they are automatically eligible to enter. The other two, however, were the chosen ones and also called the guest teams. The best themes for the 2019 Copa America are Qatar and Japan from the AFC. All these teams together will definitely produce good football and it will be a treat to watch them go all out against each other on the ground.

Copa America 2019 Teams

Copa America 2019 schedule

Tournament stage Date(s)
Group stage June 14 – June 24
Quarter-finals June 27 – June 29
Semi-finals July 2 – 3
Third-place play-off July 6
Final July 7

The teams are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Equador, Japan, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar, Uruguay, and Venezuela. There are a lot of good teams and there has to be a good Venezuela team squad Copa America 2019 for them to be in the top. All we can do is hope for a good team and good performances by all the players.

Copa America 2019 teams

Team Confederation
Argentina CONMEBOL
Venezuela CONMEBOL
Japan AFC
Qatar AFC

All ten CONMEBOL national teams will be eligible in Copa America 2019. On 16 March 2018, CONMEBOL announced 3 teams from CONCACAF and three teams from AFC will enter in the Copa América 2019. On 12 April 2018, it was announced that Qatar, the host of the 2022 FIFA World Cup, accepted the invitation to participate in the tournament. On 4 May 2018, CONMEBOL announced that the tournament would instead be played with 12 teams, the same number as previous editions since 1993 (apart from the Copa América Centenario held in 2016), with the two guest teams being Qatar and Japan from the AFC. Both teams managed to reach the final of the 2019 AFC Asian Cup held in the UAE, which was won by Qatar.

Qatar will be making their debut appearance in the Copa América becoming the first Arab nation to play in the tournament, while Japan will be making their second appearance, their first since 1999. This will also be the first Copa América to not feature any team from CONCACAF since teams have been invited; in particular, Mexico, which has competed in all ten editions since 1993 as an invited team, will not participate in this tournament. The United States has competed in four tournaments, including the 2016 event as a host.

Copa America 2019 hosts

Copa America Broadcasting TV Channel

Copa America 2019 Brazil will host this tournament and it will be their first time staging it since 1989. This will be the 5th time the Copa America is being held in Brazil in 1919, 1922 and 1949, as well as 1989.

  •  Argentina
  •  Bolivia
  •  Brazil (hosts)
  •  Chile (title holders)
  •  Colombia
  •  Ecuador
  •  Japan (invited team)
  •  Paraguay
  •  Peru
  •  Qatar (invited team)
  •  Uruguay
  •  Venezuela

Group A

Pos Team Pld W D L GD Pts
1 Brazil (H) 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 Peru 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 Venezuela 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 Bolivia 0 0 0 0 0 0

Group B

Pos Team Pld W D L GD Pts
1 Uruguay 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 Chile 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 Paraguay 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 Qatar 0 0 0 0 0 0

Group C

Pos Team Pld W D L GD Pts
1 Argentina 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 Colombia 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 Japan 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 Ecuador 0 0 0 0 0 0

Copa America 2019 stadiums

Stadium City Capacity
Estadio do Maracana Rio de Janeiro 74,738
Estadio do Morumbi Sao Paulo 67,428
Estadio Mineirao Belo Horizonte 58,170
Arena do Gremio Porto Alegre 55,662
Itaipava Arena Fonte Nova Salvador 51,900
Arena Corinthians Sao Paulo 49,205

Copa America 2019 Teams
As already mentioned, this tournament is going to be held in Brazil where the crowd is anticipated to be awesome. All thanks to the passion of football, the Brazilians have. This tournament is going to start on 14th June and the final match is going to be held on 7th July. However, most of the fans don’t know the fact that this tournament was supposed to be held in Chile initially. According to the alphabetical order which CONMEBOL’s rotation policy follows, Brazil was supposed to host the 2015 Copa America while Chile was supposed to host the 2019 Copa America. What actually happened was that a lot of tournaments were held in Brazil consecutively at that time. The 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup, the 2014 FIFA World Cup, and the 2016 Summer Olympics- all were held by none other than Brazil and that is why they shied away from hosting the 2015 Copa America as well. In the end, Brazil and Chile came to terms and decided that it was a good idea to swap around the hosts of 2015 and 2019. This way, Brazil is now the official hosts of the Copa America 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *